Progress & To-Do.

My little baby’s room is coming along.

I would guess the size to be 8’x9′.  The furniture we have been provided with includes an extra long twin bed, a nightstand, and a dresser.  I brought suitcases full of gifts and things have been arriving here in the mail.

At this point I am unable to help Joshua bring the crib upstairs; it is too heavy.  Over his fall break we plan on taking it up one piece at a time and assembling it.

The mattress is upstairs holding the space for the crib.  I have piles that are separated to be washed of little towels, blankets, clothing, and hats.

The bed just barely fits along the wall under the window, and I am thankful that it does.  This is where my mom will stay when she visits in November. The total square footage of the Apartment is 550 sq. ft.

I bought these vintage printing blocks at an antique store in Phoenix years ago, and brought them here on the plane with me in my purse.

Joshua took the closet door off the track to fit the dresser in the closet.  The changing pad will go on top.

There is still a lot left to be done.

To do:

  • Assemble the crib
  • Wash the clothes etc.
  • Put things away where they will go
  • Make up the bedding for the crib
  • Research infant clothing for the snow
  • Write out my birthing plan
  • Pack a bag for the hospital

To buy:

  • Changing pad
  • Wipes (I also want to experiment with making my own)
  • Vaseline
  • Cotton balls
  • 2 extra sets of crib sheets
  • Mittens
  • Universal stroller carrier (for airplane trips)
  • Stain remover solution
  • Basket to put under the night stand

I may also buy this sweet garland to tape onto the wall. The colors and motif might do something for the starkness of the cinder block.

I walk by the room and stand in the doorway, or sit on the bed and wait in the silence.

47 days.

Leave a Reply

